New Humanity Movement

Social Ethics

Intervista_RobertoStirparo

Roberto Stirparo is a hydraulic engineer and an expert on water purification plants. His professional career is quite intense and enriched by his endeavor to put into practice the Gospel.

by Paolo Balduzzi

Roberto Stirparo is a hydraulic engineer with a special interest in the environment. For many years he has been responsible of water purification plants. He is married and the father of a girl, and the family lives in Calabria, in the south of Italy. His story is emblematic: it shows the importance of putting the Gospel into practice in daily life, even when things get tough.

For starters, how did you find yourself involved in the running of water purification plants?

«I graduated in April 1992 as a hydraulic engineer. My extended family was involved in the tourist industry. When business started to take a downward curve, there was a lot of tension among the members of my family. This situation affected badly my father, who suffered from a hemorrhage in the brain just two months prior to my graduation; he was left totally paralyzed. It was not an easy situation, and I found it quite hard to keep on believing in the words of the Gospel. We opted to safeguard the relationships between the members of the extended family. Therefore we gave our business shares to the other family members».

What made you take such a decision?

«Living the Gospel in the light of the charism of unity helped me understand that I must love every person, even my enemies: this entailed avoiding conflicts and highlighting the good that bonded us together. Thus, thanks to my degree I sought other professional opportunities».

So now you are involved in water purification?