New Humanity Movement

Politics and P.A.

Angelo Crescente

Angelo Crescente and Emilio Donnarumma are respectively the Mayor and the Secretary of Capodrise, in the South of Italy. Is it possible to live brotherhood even in the municipality? Yes, it is, and here we have an example!*

Emilio 

We are Angelo Crescente and Emilio Donnarumma, respectively the Mayor and the Secretary of Capodrise, in the South of Italy. 

The Secretary’s job entails collaboration with the Mayor, especially by giving him advice regarding juridical-administrative matters; through my services the local council is assured that all decisions are taken within the law.

I’ve been working for the last 35 years. My parents imparted to me solid values which were then enhanced by the Ideal of universal brotherhood; these values helped me to act responsibly wherever I found myself. I must admit that this was not always easy, especially when faced with widespread corruption, something quite common in our region. In my relationship with many Mayors and councilors, I always tried to do my best in my role as consultant; I would offer a correct interpretation of the law and explain all aspects connected to it. Unfortunately, not all Mayors were ‘politically correct’ and respectful of the law. Indeed, many a time I had to formally express my negative opinion regarding the lawfulness of some decisions. My conscience would not allow me to look for loopholes in a certain law. I tried to serve my city in this way for 12 years. In 2011, Angelo was elected Mayor of Capodrise.  

Angelo 

Immediately after my election in May 2011, I became aware of my limitations to do well such a delicate job which the citizens have entrusted to me. However, I was convinced that be continuing to live the Ideal of universal brotherhood, I would have found the way to go ahead.