New Humanity Movement

Health: Person, Environment

taxi_pretoria

I wish to share my experience on how the spirituality of unity has an influence in my daily activity.  To put into practice the Gospel in every day’s life motivates me moment by moment and creates “community” among people in my city.

By Lucy Shasha, Pretoria (South Africa)

By profession I am a nurse, but at a certain point I started now and then catering for special occasions like marriages, birthdays, and so on. One day I was requested to cater for the 21st birthday celebration of the eldest daughter of T. D., the lady now former Minister of Public Works. She was much exited about the food I prepared and from there she has been calling me for small functions at her house to cater for. There the idea came up to have together with her and her sister a take-away kitchen in Pretoria. I agreed immediately, because I thought it was a good opportunity, I like catering, and also like to be with people.

We started at a very small scale in March this year in Pretoria, near a taxi rank. Each one of us contributed, to get the business started, even lending things from our houses.
This workplace is for me a chance to love concretely my colleagues, always having as a priority the unity among us. At the beginning we had to learn to work with one another. I am a person who does not talk much, I try to listen and act concretely and by that people understand how to work, and sometime I realize something done wrong but do not mention it to them.