New Humanity Movement

Education and Culture

goaThis is the experience of a protagonist in the educational project ‘Colouring our city’ that was promoted in Goa, India. The project was divided into three phases, and its aim was to address the dramatic conditions in which the poor people live. The institutions and many schools welcomed this initiative; many young people discovered the many hidden talents they possessed, and much more.

by Yvonne Ribeiro - Goa (India)

I’m a teacher and I was assigned, together with my colleague Lucienne, to a secondary school as part of the National Social Program. This is a project that aims to promote the development of the students’ personality through community service.

I have known the Ideal of Brotherhood for many years, and I’m sure that there are many ways to serve the others through love. Thus, Lucienne and I took an active part in the project ‘Colouring our city’, and also proposed it to our school.

The first phase entailed a better knowledge of our city. We organised a competition about our city, and also various seminars dealing with the vectors of new diseases, like HIV that constitutes a real problem in our city, besides courses on first aid. We deepened our knowledge of the ‘Regional Plan for Goa 2011’ to help the students understand the situation in which they find themselves. Different experts were called to talk about such topics like: the social development, stress management, personality development, the laws for the protection of minors. During this first phase the students worked together and have harvested a lot of information regarding the State’s endeavour to address certain issues.